What will happen if I reset all settings?

Asked by: Polly Schneider  |  Last update: October 4, 2026
Score: 4.4/5 (3 votes)

Resetting all settings returns your device's customizations (like Wi-Fi passwords, wallpaper, notifications, privacy settings) to their factory defaults but does not delete your personal data, such as photos, apps, messages, or files, making it a safe troubleshooting step for configuration issues without data loss.

Does reset all settings delete everything?

Reset all settings without erasing apps and data

This type of reset will not erase security or language settings, accounts, personal data, or settings for your downloaded apps.

What will happen if you reset all your settings?

After the reset, the device will return to its factory settings, which means that installed apps and saved data will be erased. If you have made a backup, you can not only restore a device to its pre-reset state, you can also use the backup to transfer your data to a new device.

Is it good to reset settings on iPhone?

Resetting your iPhone to factory settings can feel like a drastic step. However, it's often the most effective way to wipe out stubborn problems. This process erases everything — your apps, your settings, files, and personal data — essentially giving your device a clean slate.

What is the benefit of resetting settings?

As devices operate, they amass temporary data and glitches, gradually impeding their efficiency. The reset eradicates these digital cobwebs, effectively decluttering the system and enabling gadgets to operate at peak performance levels.

What Happens If You Reset iPhone?

20 related questions found

How to reset without deleting photos?

Back up your Android phone.

Uploading it to a service like Google Drive™, or one offered by your phone carrier, will ensure you don't lose everything during a factory reset.

Does reset all settings delete saved passwords?

Your passwords app will remain intact with all passwords on device.

What problems does resetting fix?

Why perform a factory reset on your smartphone? Fixing generic phone problems: If your smartphone is having issues, such as slow performance, freezing, or crashing, a factory reset can often solve the problem. This is because the process erases any corrupt files or settings that might be causing the issue.

What is the difference between reset all settings and erase all data?

Reset all Settings removes things like your Wifi password and settings you've set on your iPad for Apps, mail, etc. Erase All Content and Settings restores a device to it's out of the box state when it was first turned on. You should use Erase All Content and Settings to get it ready for the next owner.

What does it mean to reset all settings?

To remove all data from your phone, you can reset your phone to factory settings. Factory resets are also called “formatting” or “hard resets.” Important: You're using an older Android version. Some of these steps work only on Android 9 and up.

Will my photos get deleted if I reset my iPhone?

Moreover, no data or media is deleted from iPhone when choosing the Reset All Settings or Reset Network Settings option.

Will I lose anything if I reset all settings?

Choose an option: Reset All Settings: All settings—including network settings, the keyboard dictionary, location settings, privacy settings, and Apple Pay cards—are removed or reset to their defaults. No data or media are deleted.

How to clear history without losing passwords?

To avoid losing saved passwords, users should go to their privacy settings and search for a list of what data will be cleared. If an option is available specifically for Passwords, make sure the option is not selected. You can type Ctrl+Shift+Del in many browsers to skip straight to the cache options.

What data is not erased during factory reset?

Photos, videos, music, and documents stored on a memory card are not erased during a factory data reset.

How can I get my pictures back after resetting my phone?

Check Google Photos Backup: If you had Google Photos installed and set to automatically backup your photos, you might be able to retrieve them from your Google account. Check for Local Backups: Some Android phones create local backups of data. You can check if there are any backups stored on your phone or its SD card.

How do I reset my iPhone settings without losing data?

Go to Settings > General > Transfer or Reset iPhone > Reset. Here, you can select "Reset All Settings." This action resets system settings like Wi-Fi networks and passwords, privacy settings, and wallpaper to their defaults, but your personal data, such as apps, photos, and music, remains untouched.

Will resetting remove my apps?

A factory reset restores a device to its original settings and removes user accounts, apps, and local data—use it to fix severe software issues or safely prepare a device for hand-off.

Is it okay to reset all settings on iPhone?

Restoring your Apple® iPhone® to its default settings can help fix problems like crashing and freezing while keeping your data, files, and apps intact.