No, you cannot delete individual entries or clear the audit log in Discord. The audit log is designed as a permanent record of server events, such as ban actions, role changes, and channel deletions, which cannot be removed by users or administrators. These logs are automatically retained for 45 days.
Only Admins can delete but anyone with permissions to View the Audit Log can leave notes and comments.
You can delete old or unwanted logs to restore database space. You can choose to delete audit logs by table, by access logs, or by date range.
The Audit Log allows users with the "View Audit Log" permission to view changes to the server. These include the creation/deletion of channels and roles, kicking and banning of members, updating server information, and more. In order to view the Audit Log, go to "Server Settings" and then click "Audit Log".
All audit log entries are stored for 45 days.
Deleted messages from Deleted Items folder: This activity corresponds to the SoftDelete mailbox auditing action. The audit log records this activity when a user deletes a message from the Deleted Items folder.
One of the most common use cases for audit logs is understanding who deleted a message in a Discord server. If a user deleted another user's message, you can find out who did that as soon as you receive the corresponding audit log event.
To clear your Discord cache, close the app, then on Windows, go to %appdata% and delete the Cache, Code Cache, and GPUCache folders in the Discord directory; on Android, use the Settings > Apps > Discord > Storage > Clear Cache option; and on Mac, navigate to ~/Library/Application Support/discord/ and trash those same folders. These steps remove temporary files, improving performance without deleting your account.
Audit logs provide evidence of compliance with regulations and industry standards. Audit logs aid in diagnosing and resolving technical issues by providing insights into system behavior, errors, system activity, and performance bottlenecks.
Information retained until your account is deleted
We keep some data for the life of your Discord account. This includes information about how you use Discord, which helps us understand how users interact with our services, what features or products users may want, or how to improve our services.
Choose the Options button at the top of the right-hand pane and then choose Delete from the menu displayed. The Delete Auditing dialog box will be displayed: Note that at the top of the dialog box the Current Category: message tells you which category and item(s) are currently selected.
HIPAA requires a six-year minimum retention for audit logs related to protected health information. Your logs should record access to systems containing patient data, and organizations must demonstrate regular log review procedures.
You can delete audit logs for: Spaces for which auditing is enabled. For each space, you can delete separately all the audit log entries recorded for read operations and all the audit log entries recorded for change operations. All the entries recorded before the date and time you specify are deleted.
If you're looking to delete videos older than 30 days, you'll need to upgrade to Redact Premium. The Premium plan gives you unlimited Discord bulk deletion, so you can wipe your entire Discord history—videos, messages, attachments, and more. It also includes a huge variety of additional deletion services.
When an audit log is posted, it shows the user's profile picture, their Discord username, what action they had taken, and the time of the event. For this example image we can see what it looks like when someone joins and leaves a voice channel.
Not reporting all of your income is an easy-to-avoid red flag that can lead to an audit. Taking excessive business tax deductions and mixing business and personal expenses can lead to an audit. The IRS mostly audits tax returns of those earning more than $200,000 and corporations with more than $10 million in assets.
To view audit logs, you must have the appropriate Identity and Access Management (IAM) permissions and roles: To get the permissions that you need to get read-only access to Admin Activity, Policy Denied, and System Event audit logs, ask your administrator to grant you the Logs Viewer ( roles/logging.
Choose Discord from the sidebar. This will bring up Discord on the main screen. From here, you should select “Delete From Discord“. There is also a mass delete option for Discord moderators, but for this how-to we are sticking to individual / personal Discord accounts.
Start deleting your Discord account easily.
According to Discord, messages are gone forever as soon as you delete them on your computer, Android, iPhone or iPad.
DMs are private between you and the other person. Servers owners/admins/mods are unable to view them. Only a few select people at Discord can even access DMs and that's in relation to if you or the other person say submits in a report to trust and safety and they have a reason to view them.